I Heard It From The PR Girl


Friendly Little Comments

Posted in PRCA 3330 by laurynwilliams on February 2, 2010

Comment # 1

Title of Post: “Now I GET It”

Author:  “crawlins” Caroline Rawlings

check it out!

Date:  January 27

My comment:

“This is so true! Life definitely would not be the same without the “spell check” feature on Microsoft Word or even T9word on my cell phone to use for text messaging. Aside from spelling, I also use the “find synonyms” function on Microsoft Word far too much! How many times have you thought “I can find a better word than this to fit in this sentence!” If you are anything like you then right click and check out what synonyms the good ole’ computer can find. Technology has definitely changed our lives in both good and bad ways.
I never knew that the word “get” had 63 meanings! This blog has a lot of information that I needed to think about. Good job, Caroline!
I’ll link to Grammar Girl now!”

Comment #2

Title of Post: “Reaction to Grammar Girl’s Blog on how to say 2010”

Author: Jessica Dudley

check it out!

Date of Comment: January 27

My comment:

“I am, also, glad that the Associated Press is saying that “twenty-ten” is correct! This is so much easier to say. If you would have asked me before I read this blog what the correct way to say the current year was I would have said “Oh, ‘two-thousand and ten’ is more grammatically correct, because it is more specific and you would be saying it like it is written out.” I am so glad no one came to me for that advice!

I only have one question, Jessica:  Is “twenty-ten” also grammatically correct to write or should we just stick to saying it that way and continue writing “the year 2010” and “the year two-thousand and ten?”

Comment #3

Title of Post:  “AP Style Bootcamp”

Author: Barbara Nixon

check it out!

Date: February 2

My Comment:

“I just watched the AP Style Bootcamp video and I printed the PDF. This was so nice of you to do! I helped so much. This way I am not using the book blindly. Many times I am like a salt shaker with commas, but I am getting better and this will definitely help. Now that I have flagged my book I feel more like I know what I am doing. The little tips on the PDF and video where most people make mistakes will also help when I just need to glance at the book, but do not have the time to spend looking it up. I am glad you did this. You are the only teacher that I have had in college that has bothered to go through the Stylebook with me. Thank you!”

Comment #4

Title of the Post:  “Week 2 – Grammar Girl – Swear Words in Text”

Author: Evan Floyd

check it out!

Date: February 3

My Comment:

“That jumbled up mixture of symbols is called a Grawlix? I never knew that! That is very interesting. I, honestly, hate when someone is texting or instant messaging me and they use that to replace a swear word. Seriously, why even pretend to swear by doing that?

This post is very interesting to me, but I’m a little confused about what the Grammar Girl post, “Swear words in text,” said about writing with swear words? You mentioned movies and some great ideas for new technology to deal with censorship on television, but are things such as Grawlix appropriate for writing?

I will definitely check out this Grammar Girl post!”

Comment # 5

Title of the Post: “Cover Letter Tips”

Author: John Keith

Check it out!

Date: February 9

My comment:

“These are some great tips! I would have never have thought of some of these ideas. I am going to print this off and save as a future guideline. I would have most likely have tried to make my cover letter stand out and ended up with too much flamboyant accessories cluttering up the page. I am so glad you mentioned the idea about telling the employee that you will be calling to follow up on their decision. I think that this encounter prior to an interview would definitely make someone stand out to an employer. This was very helpful! I will be sure to continue reading your blog posts.”

Comment # 6

Title of Post: “PRCA 3330 TOW #4:  NewsU (Cleaning Your Copy)”

Author: Carrie Beth Abramson

Check it out!

Date: February 10

My comment:

“I think many people get confused about grammar, because the way we speak is sometimes not always correct. Different regions have different dialects and tendencies to arrange and say words incorrectly. That makes it very hard to change the way you write. I totally agree with you about AP Style. I am pretty good at it now, but last semester was the first time I actually had to apply it. I can definitely always learn more, and I do not think that I will ever know it all! I think I will keep the AP Style Handbook close at all times. The Cleaning Your Copy really helped refresh my grammar skills and teach me a few new things about my weak point as well (style).”

Comment # 7

Title of the Post: “TOW: Week 5. Super Bowl XXLIV Commercials”

Author: Tashe Graves

Check it out!

Date: February 16

My Comment:

“I really liked the Bud Light and Budweiser commercials as well! I, actually, always like them. The one with the horse and the long horn bull was funny and sweet. I like how they use the animals and not just a bunch of dumb guys sitting around drinking beer.  Even though that is sometimes funny, the animals are definitely more creative. I think these commercials get better every year. I agree about the target audience, but, not to get controversial, do you think they actually target 18-50 year old men? I mean they have to take into account that there are plenty of college students and 18 year old working adults out there who are going to get alcohol from somewhere, although, it is illegal.”

Comment # 8

Title of the Post: “Ch. 4 Key Ideas”

Author: Caroline Rawlings

Check it out!

Date: February 16

My Comment:

“I think a lot of times when I’m writing for my journalism classes I forget how important it is to localize news. I basically have to write local news stories because how else am I going to perform an interview to get direct quotes? I cannot exactly just call up a national official. I just never think to take into account how much it means to see you’re hometown in the news or to see someone you know in the local news. It is important to remember that there is a personal side to journalism as well as public relations writing. This chapter exemplified that, as well as many other great ideas on how to get your organization in the news. This chapter was very helpful to me not only in this class, but also in other classes I am taking dealing with writing for PR.”

Comment # 9

Title of Post: “My Week of Twitter”

Author: Jessica Dudley

Check it out!

Date: February 20, 2010

My comment:

“This week of Twitter was really fun I thought! I already had one, but I rarely used it. I need also need to learn how to tweet without using the entire URL as a link. I felt really goofy when I did that because no one else ever did! I also need to start using the hashtags. I think Professor Nixon should just teach an entire class on how to use Twitter as a PR student for networking and professional relationships! We should probably mention that to her. She could even do an online course for a cost open for anyone.”

Comment #10

Title of the Post: “TOW:  Week 6 – What makes a story newsworthy?”

Author: Anna Glisson

Check it out!

Date: February 23

My comment:

“I agree that there are lots of things that make a story news worthy. First and foremost it must be timely and recent, but you must take into consideration who your audience is. Like you said some news stations might love your story while others do not. Think about what media outlets you are going to submit your work and who their target audience is. After that, you should make sure your story is interesting and/or entertaining. Human interest stories or storied that contain human placement are always good. This is a really great post! You hit on every idea I would have thought of, and mentioned some things such as the consideration of news station choice that I did not come up with off the top of my head.”

Comment # 11

Title of the Post:  “PR Majors are Misunderstood!”

Author:  Wynn Kennedy

Check it out! 

Date:  March 2

My comment:

“I totally agree about PR jobs! I never know where to start explaining even if I can get the point across eventually. There is too much involved in being a PR professional. It is like you and the video said definitely a working process from the ground up. You cannot get rich in a day so to speak. I personally am looking into music PR. Perhaps I could work with a record company one day. I think all we PR majors must go into the field knowing our interests, but having an open mind to what the profession brings us. People rarely start off with the job they want, or they start off with the job they want and realize that just is not what they want to do. I really liked this video description. Great post!”

Comment # 12

Name of Post:  “SPINdustry”

Author:  Michelle Blubaugh

Check it out!  

Date:  March 4

My comment:

“I want to see this show! I have not found time to watch it yet, so I need to find out when it comes on. This show could give PR a bad name, but honestly would it be the first time? Sex and The City has been doing that for years. The only side of PR that most people know is this celebrity and “partying” side. It provides for better entertainment.

If they keep showing things like press releases, scheduling, and planning, which actual PR professionals do everyday, it would be a better portrayal. I think people know that side of PR goes on, but they do not see the effort put into it, because usually no one even sees the PR professional or PR firm behind the works. Just make sure to spread the word that this is one side of PR, NOT the only side! I’m excited to see this.”

Comment # 13

Title of Post:  “The Lead Lab:  Week 8”

Author:  Allie Harrington

Check It Out! 

Date:  March 7

My Comment:

“I think that the interactive aspect of this NewsU course was very helpful  as well. I liked that it let you view other leads, taught you the different types of leads and it allowed to actually write your own lead for a story given to you. This was great experience. It is definitely a good course to take because it makes you realize that there are so many different ways to write a lead and that no certain way is always right. I always have an issue with trying to write my lead a certain way when it could actually be better written as an anecdotal lead or summary lead. That is just an example. You made a lot of good points in this post! I will have to refer back to it (at least to see the types you listed) when I am writing my next lead!”

Comment # 14

Title of Post:  “Chapter 7 Notes”

Author:  Lauren Whitener

Check It Out! 

Date:  March 8

My Comment:

“Wow, this is a really detailed post of chapter 7! This is really great. My posts are definitely not as detailed. This is a great way to study! I should make my posts more like this. Haha. I really like how you noted every approach to writing a feature. This is definitely going to be helpful for you. I also really like your descriptions of each part of a feature story and each type of feature story. Great notes to refer to! I am going to make my notes more detailed next time. You did a really wonderful job of outlining the chapter.”

Comment # 15

Title of Post:  “Times are Changing”

Author:  Becca Thomas

Check it out! 

Date:  March 20

My Comment:

“The idea of the new proposed budget cuts for Georgia Southern University really tears at my heart. I do not understand why, of all things, higher education has to suffer? Is there not somewhere else the money can come from? I am very concerned because I want to finish college and graduate, but if tuition is raised and the budget cuts are enforced I am not sure if that is going to happen, at least not at Georgia Southern. I believe that as public relations majors this is a wonderful opportunity not only for us to help spread the word and awareness, but also a change for us to stand out and get our voices heard. There are many petitions going around to sign that are being sent to the senator and politicians. Please check those out on Facebook and Twitter! This post topic is definitely worth mentioning.”

 

Comment # 16

Title of Post:   “More Free Rice Please”

Author:  Tashe Graves

Check it out! 

Date:  March 20

My Comment:

“I have never heard of this website! This is amazing, as you said. Freerice’s PR team really needs to start putting ads in magazines and on TV. I agree with everything you said in this post. This is for such a great cause, and everyone could always use a little update on their grammar. I will definitely tell my friends and family about this. My mom loves grammar so she will honestly just be thrilled about the quiz. I wonder if there is a way that we can help to spread the word on campus? There are actually many websites like this where you just have to do something small to make a big difference! I’ll look into it.”

Comment # 17

Title of Post:  “My First Media Advisory!”

Author:  Matt Cook

Check It Out! 

Date:  March 21

My Comment:

“I think this is a very good media advisory. It was very smart of you to post it on your blog, too. Feedback is a great way to learn. I also like that our PR Writing class just had to do a media advisory a week ago, so this is relevant to what we are currently doing in class. You utilized the “who,” “what,” “when,” “where,” “why” well. In my opinion though the “who” and “when” should come before “what.” I also think hat sometimes the “what” and “why” could be combined to make is shorter and more concise. That is just my opinion, of course. I’m just thinking about avoiding repetition. Great post!”

Comment # 18

Title of Post:  “PR Connections: 4”

Author:  Jessica Teal

Check It Out! 

Date:  March 22

My Comment:

“The Ledlie Group seems to be a really interesting Atlanta public relations firm. They have a very global networking system. I would like learn more about them and possibly looking into getting an internship with them for some experience. Are you from Atlanta? What made you so interested in this particular firm? I agree, though, that they presented their information well on this website. Let me know if you find out any more details about The Ledlie Group. I like the idea that they have 100 years of experience in corporate communications. I believe that makes many people feel very secure.”

Comment # 19

Title of Post:  “PRCA 3330 Chp. 8 – Selecting Publicity Photos and Graphics” 

Author:  Erica Campbell

Check it out!

Date: March 30

My Comment:

“I really like these notes of chapter 8. It was clever to insert a picture with a caption as an example for the readers. Now that we have all actually written a caption with a photo and turned it in as a grade I can really see how this should be done. I liked the website that Professor Nixon gave us to go to for that assignment. It would probably be useful to attach it to these notes of yours! How did you attach the photo? I have been having a really hard time making my photos the right size on my blog posts.”

Comment # 20

Title of Post:  “Is there such a thing as “bad PR?” 

Author:  Shelly Martin

Check it out!  

Date: March 30

My Comment:

“I think this is a really timely and newsworthy post. I definitely agree that “bad PR” can be a good way to get a less popular celebrity into the spotlight. I am not sure if Jesse James is loving the spotlight right now or not, but I am sure that Sandra Bulloch is hating the whole situation. I think that the media will treat this the same way as the Tiger Woods case. Hopefully we will not have to hear a bogus apology from Jesse like we did Tiger. I honestly do not believe we will because Jesse does not have near as many fans nor any child fans to be concerned about what type of image he is putting forth for them.”

 

Comment # 21

Title of Post: “And the Oscar goes to…”

Author:  Nicole Barlow

Check it out! 

Date:  April 5

My comment:

“This is a great post! I think having a spokes person is a great way to promote a cause, but being an actor, actress, celebrity, or public figure actually start a foundation or organization is wonderful. When these famous people take the initiative to help with a certain issue, it really humanizes them. It makes regular people like us feel like we can better relate to them. Celebrities consciously create and co-found these organizations to get the word out, because they know they can do that better than an ordinary person. It is much easier for them to raise money and donate money to their causes.”

Comment # 22

Title of Post:  “Marketeers board the Social Media Clue Train”

Author:  Jon Clements

Check it out!  

Date:  April 5

My comment:

“I believe that social media has many benefits for public relations and marketing. By reviewing what consumers are saying about your product or service you can better understand what they want and what they no longer want. These things are really important for promotion. Twitter is a great source for businesses to view what consumers are saying about their company as well as for promotion for their product or service. The only problem I see with social media is that some people use it incorrectly. Businesses should make sure that they are not doing ridiculous automatic updates on Twitter. This does not benefit anyone and is quite annoying for other businesses as well as consumers.”

 

Comment # 23

Title of Post:  “Why do so few PR professionals blog?”

Author: Paul Stallard

Check it out!   

Date:  April 13

My comment:

“I believe that blogging is a wonderful way for PR professionals to get their name out, get their products name out, speak up about issues in the field, and receive feedback. I think that Twitter is a good way to briefly point out all of the above, but with Twitter it is hard to see opinions due to lack of word space. In blogs, PR professionals can state how they feel if they would like to. The reason I think so many people have moved to Twitter is because it is newer than blogging and it is easier in that you do not have to write much at all. I am currently blogging for my PR writing class in the USA, but I agree that most professionals blog infrequently. I see many posts, but not from the same person. I don’t necessarily think that this is a bad thing. I just think that as a PR student or practitioner one should follow many PR blogs not just one or two. The broader your scope is for taking in knowledge the more you will take in that information and be able to practice it. This is a wonderful post!”

Comment # 24

Title of Post:  “PR blogs are growing, and Kent State’s Heather Bing is on the list!”

Author:  Bill Sledzik

Check it out!  

Date:  April 13

My Comment:

“I think this is great! I am a PR student as well. I love blogging, honestly. It is so nerdy to say! I feel that it is a wonderful way to make connections and build networking. It is also a great way to make yourself go out into the online world and read other blogs, articles, and videos about PR to blog about on your own blog. It really makes you more aware of how people are dealing with issues in PR and what is going on in the professional world. I wish that our PR writing class engaged in the PR Wiki more. Professor Nixon should really look into that. We worked a lot with Twitter and I believe that was helpful to show everyone how it really should be used. This is an inspiring post! Congratulations, Heather Bing!”

Comment # 25

Title of Post:  “Why traditional PR is dead – and what to do about it”

Author:  Al Sargent

Check it out!    

Date:  April 14

My Comment:

“This post makes many good points. PR is changing due to technology and social media. I really like that you mention the importance and skill of bloggers. Blogging is a great way to get your opinion out without being punished for it. I would suggest for PR students to start blogging while in college. It doesn’t matter if it is about PR or not, as long as it is something that they are generally interested in and have a lot of knowledge about. I do not believe that journalists should worry about PR practitioners and bloggers taking their jobs, though. They write differently and usually address a different audience. What PR bloggers talk about is not necessarily newsworthy to everyone, because the blog is focused on a PR. I love some of the points made in this post.”

Comment # 26

Title of Post:  “how to study for final exams”

Author:  Barbara Nixon

Check it out! 

Date:  April 22

My Comment:

“These tips are really great! I usually have pretty good study habits. I study and get my work done in advance. I believe that study a little everyday a week before the exam or as soon as possible really helps.

I always plan out my schedule for studying as well. I pick one day to study for two exams, then the next day to study for the other two. I do that until finals week, then I map out that week for studying according to how well I know certain material.

I agree with Julie that it is important to keep things fresh by studying in a new environment, but I usually study best alone in my room. I believe I can focus better. If I am feeling really stressed about a certain exam and I know I need to study, but I feel like taking a long break will make me more anxious, I usually pack my stuff up get in my car and drive to a nice outdoor spot to study in a more relaxing environment.

Those are some things that have helped me and some tips for you all! I wish everyone luck on exams!”

One Response to 'Friendly Little Comments'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'Friendly Little Comments'.


  1. […] comment can also be found on my “Friendly Little Comments” post, which has tracked my comments throughout the Spring 2010 semester. Leave a […]


Leave a Reply

