I Heard It From The PR Girl


Weeks 9 & 10: PR OpenMic Website

Posted in Topic of the Week by laurynwilliams on March 19, 2010

My PR writing class’s Topic of the Week is over PR OpenMic. This social network is geared especially toward PR professionals, but can be extremely helpful in helping public relations students and graduates network and find jobs. It was developed by Auburn University’s Robert French.

  • What did you learn?

My way of explaining how this website works is by saying it is a combination of Twitter and Facebook. The wonderful thing about this site is that it is very professional, which is where I see Twitter heading more in the future. Facebook is can be a very personal social network, and I do not see it being as professional as PR OpenMic. One reason is because it is geared directly to public relations, hence the name. It allows you to customize your profile by adding pictures, applications, discussions, blog posts, music, and videos. These additions benefit each user by allowing them to post their opinions and ideas about public relations.

One thing that I really like about PR OpenMic is the “Latest” section of the Front Page Index that opens as soon as you sign in. This reminds me somewhat of Twitter because you get to see what is going on in the world, except it is specifically dealing with PR. From here you can go to particular sections of the “Latest” section such as latest news, latest blog posts, latest forum posts, and any latest activity.

  • What surprised you?

It really surprised me to see how personal such a professional website can be. It allows you to see people who have birthdays today and tomorrow, like Facebook. I think that this personal feel only makes networking easier and less strict and stiff. There are also groups that can be joined that connect people in such things as common interests or location. I am currently a member of these groups: Students, Resumes::Post Yours Today, PRSSA, Jobs and Internships, and Entertainment PR.

  • What do you want to know more about?

I want to learn more about the “Jobs and Internships” section located on a tab at the top of the page. This is an amazing way to see not only what internships are out there, but also what internships are right for you and worth looking into. This could definitely be beneficial to public relations graduates and, especially, students. I believe that it is extremely important to have one or more internships before even graduating to get some hands on experience. I’m really excited to explore this area of PR OpenMic more. Once I figure out how to effectively participate on this website and use it to my advantage I believe that I will really have moved forward in my major and career choice!

I love this site! I encourage all PR students, graduates, and professions to join!

Leave a Reply

