I Heard It From The PR Girl


Small Town Girl to Uptown Leader

Posted in PRCA 3330 by laurynwilliams on April 19, 2010

Small Town Girl to Uptown Leader

Writing lesson plans, participating in intramural sports, working at summer camps and leading her Alpha Delta Pi sorority sisters as their 2010 president provides Elizabeth Powell with a full plate of work.

As a young child, shy, little Elizabeth Powell may have seemed like an unlikely candidate for a future leader of an organization consisting of 140 women. Always a people pleaser, Powell knew becoming the 2010 president of Alpha Delta Pi sorority would be a difficult task.

“I would say the most difficult part of being president is not being able to please everyone,” said Powell. “I like for everyone to be happy, but that is a hard task to accomplish.”

After joining Alpha Delta Pi in the spring of 2008, Powell has been very involved in the Epsilon Pi chapter at Georgia Southern University. She has served as the chapter’s Director of Standards and Ethics and, also, as the T-shirt chairman.

Not only is she involved in Alpha Delta Pi, but also in other organizations such as the Collegiate Middle Level Association, Intramural Sports and Fellowship of Christian Athletes. Powell enjoys playing sports, especially tennis, and her passion for children has led her to pursue a degree in education.

“I worked at a summer camp for girls this summer in North Carolina and absolutely fell in love,” said Powell. “I taught tennis and worked with kids for three months. It was definitely my ideal summer!”

Growing up, Powell always loved school. This is unusual for most children, but it excited her to learn new things. Her mother, a middle school teacher, helped motivate her decision to teach at a middle school level.

“I love to visit in her classroom,” said Powell. “When deciding on what grade level I wanted to teach my freshman year, I had the opportunity to substitute teach in my mom’s classroom while she was on vacation for three days. I had such a great time with all of her students. I decided at that moment that I want to enjoy going to work everyday, and that was the career for me.”

Powell went to a small, private school for 14 years from four-year-old kindergarten twelfth grade. She graduated with only 17 other people.

“We were all really great friends,” said Powell. “It was more like having many brothers and sisters by the time we were in high school, rather than just friends.”

In high school she was very active in school organizations, church and the community. Growing up, she lived in the same house her entire life.

“I enjoy being very involved in something that means a lot to me,” said Powell. “I realized this through being involved all throughout high school. I had the opportunity to run for Alpha Delta Pi president after serving on the Executive Board, so I went for it!”

With her parents motivating her every step of the way, Powell’s ambition and go-getter attitude has allowed her to take risks to excel in life, while meeting many new, exciting people along the way.

“The best part of being president is having the opportunity to get to know each person in Alpha Delta Pi,” said Powell. “I work with the different committees within the sorority, so I have really gotten to know many of my sisters and see the talents and personalities of each person. Since I am a people pleaser, I like being able to know everyone on a personal level to be able to help each individual in everyway possible.”

The pledge class of spring 2008 is very small compared to most other spring and fall pledge classes. This allowed Powell to become very close to that group of women before being tossed into the midst of 140 new sisters. As President she has become close to such members of Alpha Delta Pi as Vice President, New Member Coordinator and Public Relations Chair.

Powell’s plans for after graduating college are to either start her master’s degree in education or to immediately begin looking for a job in teaching. The economy may limit the number of jobs available for new teachers in 2011.

“I know I eventually want to get my master’s degree, but I would love to begin teaching immediately,” said Powell.

As Alpha Delta Pi president, Powell has learned how to be a better leader and relieve tension that arises between groups of women. She has met some of her best friends through joining the sorority. Her older sister, Erica Powell, and several friends from her hometown are also members of the Georgia Southern chapter of Alpha Delta Pi.

“I knew I was in the right place when I walked through those doors at the Alpha Delta Pi house, and that is how I want every new member to feel,” says Powell. “I want all of my Alpha Delta Pi sisters to know that no matter where you are from, a small town or large city, that you can do anything you set your mind to, and I strive to be their example.”

MULTIMEDIA ELEMENTS
QUOTES

“The best part of being president is having the opportunity to get to know each person in Alpha Delta Pi. I work with the different committees within the sorority, so I have really gotten to know many of my sisters and see the talents and personalities of each person. Since I am a people pleaser, I like being able to know everyone on a personal level to be able to help each individual in everyway possible.” -President Elizabeth Powell of Georgia Southern’s Alpha Delta Pi sorority

 

“I knew I was in the right place when I walked through those doors at the Alpha Delta Pi house, and that is how I want every new member to feel. I want all of my Alpha Delta Pi sisters to know that no matter where you are from, a small town or large city, that you can do anything you set your mind to, and I strive to be their example.” -President Elizabeth Powell of Georgia Southern’s Alpha Delta Pi sorority

“Joining Alpha Delta Pi was one of the best decisions I have ever made. I have found true friendships that I believe will continue throughout my lifetime, not just during college.” – Kelsey Goodman, Alpha Delta Pi sister of the Epsilon Pi chapter at GSU

Alpha Delta Pi sorority’s motto is “First, Finest, Forever.” It was founded as the Adelphean Society on May 15, 1851 at Wesleyan Female College in Macon, Georgia. This was the first secret society for college women, and was later name Alpha Delta Pi. The six founders of Alpha Delta Pi, led by Eugenia Tucker Fitzgerald, were joined together with the dream of creating a society based a lifelong pledge of friendship , “We Live For Each Other.” Alpha Delta Pi’s philanthropy is the Ronald McDonald House. This charity provides housing for families who have children in intensive care or an extensive hospital visit. Soda pop-tabs are collected to help fund for the housing. Contact Jessica Dudley, public relations chair of Georgia Southern University’s Epsilon Chapter of Alpha Delta Pi, for further information on upcoming events and details about the organization at (706) 247-6508.

RELATED LINKS

Alpha Delta Pi Sorority Website
 

Ronald McDonald House Charity Website
 

Alpha Delta Pi at Georgia Southern University
Information about ADPi at GSU

Greek Life at Georgia Southern University
Information about GSU’s Greek Life

Georgia Southern’s ADPi Website
The official GSU ADPi wesite for the Epsilon Chapter

CONTACT INFORMATION

Technorati Tags: | | | | | | | | |

4 Responses to 'Small Town Girl to Uptown Leader'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'Small Town Girl to Uptown Leader'.

  1. ah01490 said,

    Great job Lauryn! Being apart of Alpha Delta Pi, I personally know Elizabeth Powell. You did a great job describing her and all the work that she has put into our sorority. I love the picture that you chose. I think it shows how much hard work and dedication that she has put into Alpha Delta Pi, but also that she still wants to have fun! The quotes that you also chose went great for describing Elizabeth. This post looked very professional! Keep up the great work! 🙂

    P.s. How do you upload pictures like you did! I always seem to have a problem with it!


    • Thanks! I made this SMNR as my final PR Writing project through PRXbuilder. It allowed me to upload the picture. I have a hard time with it on wordpress as well!

  2. Jessica said,

    Lauryn, this is really good! I am really impressed with social media news release and it has made me a little excited about me doing my project. I want to go do it right now, but I am going to comment on this first. haha.
    I really like how you did related websites! That’s a great idea. I know if I saw related websites on a news release I was reading I would definitely check it out. Good job Lauryn!!
    Everything you said about Elizabeth is so true. She is a great leader at ADPi. She has so much on her plate and I dont know how she does it.


  3. […] hyperlink […]


Leave a Reply

